Local Human Rights Commissions in Kentucky

Kentucky has a growing network of local human rights commissions. These partners promote peace, mutual respect, understanding, and quality of life in their regions.​

They provide a local presence and face-to-face contact necessary to individuals and communities in order to uphold security in an increasingly growing Commonwealth.

Local commissions assist by forwarding discrimination complaints to the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights. A few have local anti-discrimination ordinances that allow them to enforce these laws on a local level. The commissions hold education and outreach events to promote and highlight civil rights and equality.

Local human rights commissions are vital to Kentucky and the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights. Their assistance helps the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights provide a community presence in the 120 counties of the state.

Berea Human Rights Commission​
Miriam Pride, Chair
Term Feb. 12, 2014- Feb. 12, 2017
200 N. Broadway, Suite 20
Berea KY 40403
Phone 859 986-0344
Home: 859-985-8943

Bowling Green Human Rights Commission
Alice Waddell, Executive Director
491 Double Spring Road
Bowling Green, KY 42101-5185
(270) 782-7900
(270) 782-7320 fax
Email: bghumanrightscom@gmail.com
Wathetta Buford, Chair

Franklin-Simpson County Human Rights Commission
Wanda Tuck, Chair
P.O. Box 699
Franklin, KY 42135
(270) 598-9189

Henderson-Henderson County Human Rights Commission
Jeffrey Gregory, Executive Director
P.O. Box 716
Henderson, KY 42420
(270) 831-1200, ext 273
(270) 831-1206 fax
Email: hendersonhrc@yahoo.com

Hopkinsville Human Relations Commission
Bernard Standard, Executive Director
101 North Main Street
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
(270) 887-4010
(270) 885-0018 fax
Email: bstandard@hopkinsvilleky.us

Lexington-Fayette Urban County Human Rights Commission
Ray Sexton, Executive Director
342 Waller Avenue Suite 1 A
Lexington, KY 40504
(859) 252-0071 Ext. 222
(859) 252-7057 fax
Email: rsexton@lfuchrc.org or
Office Manager, Ms. Tami Reed, Treed@lfuchrc.org

Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Human Relations Commission
Kendall Boyd, Executive Director
410 W. Chestnut Street, Ste. 300A
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 574-3631
(502) 574- 3190 fax Email: hrc@louisvilleky.gov
Enforcement Board-Toni Stringer, Chair

Owensboro Human Relations Commission
Kaitlin Nonweiler, Executive Director
1650 West Second Street
P.O. Box 10003
Owensboro, KY 42302-0003
(270) 687-8670
(270) 687-8672 fax
Website: www.owensborohrc.org

Mayfield Human Rights Commission
Chris Kendrick, Executive Director
Henry Blythe, Chair
112 Arbor Ridge
Mayfield, KY 42066
(270) 247-8237
Email: chris701129@cs.com
(270) 247-0651

Richmond Human Rights Commission
Pat Reister, Chair
Richmond City Hall
239 W. Main Street
Richmond, KY 40475

Adair County & City of Columbia Commission on Human Rights
Sharon Payne, Chair

Ashland Human Rights Commission
P.O. Box 64
Ashland, KY 41101
(606) 329-8845
(606) 923-9544 cell

Bardstown Human Rights Commission
Mary Crum Spalding, Chair
29 Bluegrass Court
Bardstown, KY 40004
County term exp. 2/219

Covington Human Rights Commission
Rev. Charles Fann, Chair (2016)
(859) 415-9290
20 West Pike Street
First Floor
Covington, KY 41011
C/O Frank Warnock, City Attorney
(859) 292-2311

Danville-Boyle County Human Rights Commission
James Hunn, Chair
214 Duncan Hill Street
Danville, KY 40422
(859) 236-1178

Frankfort Human Rights Commission
Bob Padgett, Chair
Frankfort, KY City Hall
315 West Second Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone (502) 558-1164 Email kyshadetree@gmail.com
Cindy Steinhauser, City Manager (2018)
(502) 875-8500

Hazard Human Rights Board
Paul Olinger, Chairman
517 Cedar Street
Hazard, Ky 41701
Phone: (606)436-5728
Cell: 606-233-0383
E-mail: polinger@windstream.net

Maysville Human Rights Commission
Mike Thomas, Chairperson
City of Maysville
216 Bridge Street
Maysville, KY 41056
(606) 564-9419 (Maysville City Hall)
(606) 759-7362

Midway, Versailles & Woodford County Human Rights Commission
Mary Nehring, Vice Chair, (2018)
P.O. Box 1733
Daniel Brown, Secretary
(859) 879-1046
Versailles, KY 40383

Murray Human Rights Commission
Chair S.G. Carthell, Chair
500 Main Street
Murray, Kentucky 42071
TELEPHONE (270) 762-0350
TDD (270) 753-1621
FAX (270) 762-0306

Paducah Human Rights Commission
3 00 South 5th Street
City Hall, Suite 106
Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: 270-444-8643
Fax: 270-443-8680
Email: hrscrectary@ci.paducah.ky.us

Paris Human Rights Commission
Paris City Manager Daron Jordan (2018)
Paris City Hall
525 High Street
(859) 987-2110 Ext. 3102 for City Manager Daron Jordan
(859) 987-2110 –Dial 0 for Operator or 1 or 2 for city clerk or city manager

Russellville-Logan County Human Rights Commission
Richard L. Estes, Chairman
P.O. Box 291
Russellville, KY 42276
(270) 755-6000

Shelbyville, Simpsonville, Shelby County Commission on Human Rights
Alvin Farris, Chair

Mercer County Human Rights Commission
(Serving Harrodsburg, Burgin, and Mercer County)
P.O. Box 468
No Chair Status: Inactive
Harrodsburg, KY 40330
859-734-2383 Ext 102
Office hours: Mondays 9-12

Lebanon Human Rights Commission
Current Status: Inactive