KCHR 2010 Press Releases


Below are the titles only. To read press releases dated 2015 and prior, follow this link: Commission on Human Rights - Recent Headlines

December

  • Discrimination conciliation agreements brought $76,750 in compensation to complainants today including $45,000 to one complainant.

  • KY Human Rights Commission Luncheon in Frankfort this Thursday is postponed
    Monday, December 13, 2010


November

  • KY Human Rights Commission Golden Anniversary Luncheon to be held in Frankfort
    Thursday, November 18, 2010

  • The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights will celebrate its final 50-year anniversary event with a Moonlite Bar-B-Q luncheon at the Frankfort Convention Center. Judge Sara Walter Combs, the first female chief judge of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, will be the keynote speaker.

  • Workshops offered on Kentucky Native American civil rights and contemporary issues
    Tuesday, November 16, 2010



October

  • Discrimination complaint rulings for the month of October
    Friday, October 15, 2010

  • Announcing the 2010 Inductees to the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame
    Friday, October 15, 2010

  • Over 400 have signed up for largest public civil and human rights conference in KY history
    Tuesday, October 12, 2010

  • Hurry! The deadline to register is tonight at 11:59 pm. Sign up now at www.kchr.ky.gov. If registering by telephone the deadline is today by 4:30 p.m.

  • Director of Leadership Conference of Civil and Human Rights Wade Henderson to speak in Louisville this Friday
    Tuesday, October 12, 2010

  • HUD Assistant Secretary to Announce Partnership with Kentucky State University at Largest Public Civil Rights Conference in KY history
    Tuesday, October 05, 2010

  • Kweisi Mfume to speak in Louisville
    Monday, October 04, 2010



September

  • Civil and Human Rights Book Fair and Great Blacks in Wax Exhibit coming to Convention Center in Louisville
    Wednesday, September 29, 2010

  • Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame to induct new members in October
    Wednesday, September 29, 2010

  • The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights will induct civil and human rights heroes to its 2010 Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame.

  • Rulings on Discrimination Complaints for August and September
    Friday, September 24, 2010

  • Campbellsville University gives CU Leadership Award to John J. Johnson, KY Human Rights director
    Friday, September 24, 2010

  • Sign up for the region's largest civil and human rights conference of 2010
    Tuesday, September 21, 2010

  • If your passion is civil and human rights, here is the chance to interact with leaders and advocates to make a difference.



July

  • Human and Civil Rights Listening Tour will be in Middlesboro July 14
    Monday, July 12, 2010



June

  • Announcing the Mercer County Commission on Human Rights
    Tuesday, June 22, 2010

  • Human and civil rights Listening Tour will be in Louisville June 29
    Wednesday, June 09, 2010

  • Kentucky Commission on Human Rights will hold special meeting
    Wednesday, June 09, 2010

  • Human and Civil Rights Listening Tour planned for Thursday in Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Monday, June 07, 2010

  • Human and Civil Rights Listening Tour to be held tomorrow in Ashland, Kentucky
    Monday, June 07, 2010



May

  • KY Human Rights Commission May 2010 rulings on discrimination cases
    Thursday, May 20, 2010

  • Kentucky Human Rights Commission will meet
    Wednesday, May 19, 2010



April

  • KY Human Rights Commission to hold Listening Tour in Lexington
    Thursday, April 29, 2010

  • Human Rights Commission to hold Listening Tour in Hopkinsville
    Wednesday, April 28, 2010

  • State Human Rights Commission statement on death of Dorothy Height
    Thursday, April 22, 2010

  • Overview of Kentucky Women 2010 released in support of Pay Equity Day
    Wednesday, April 21, 2010

  • State Human Rights Commission mourns death of Civil Rights Champion Benjamin Hooks
    Wednesday, April 21, 2010

  • Human Rights Commission will meet
    Wednesday, April 14, 2010

  • April is Fair Housing Month in Kentucky
    Wednesday, April 07, 2010



March

  • LISTENING TOUR SESSION WILL BE HELD IN PADUCAH THIS WEEK
    Tuesday, March 23, 2010

  • KY Human Rights Commission issues March rulings on discrimination complaints
    Thursday, March 18, 2010

  • Celebrate KY Human Rights 50 years today at the Kentucky State Capitol!
    Thursday, March 18, 2010

  • Governor & others will speak about human rights in rotunda tomorrow
    Wednesday, March 17, 2010

  • Governor will recognize Human Rights Commission 50th anniversary in capitol ceremony
    Monday, March 08, 2010

  • Remembering a Kentucky woman who fled for freedom from slavery
    Friday, March 05, 2010

  • In recognition of U.S. Women's History Month Carter G. Woodson is chosen as the 48th Great Black Kentuckian
    Wednesday, March 03, 2010



February

  • Announcing the 49th member of the Gallery of Great Black Kentuckians
    Thursday, February 25, 2010

  • Announcing the Kentucky Student Civil Rights Poster Contest
    Tuesday, February 23, 2010

  • KY Human Rights Commission releases report on KY African Americans
    Monday, February 22, 2010

  • Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame Announces Call for Nominations
    Monday, February 22, 2010

  • KY Human Rights Commission to meet in Berea to rule on complaints and recognize 50th anniversary and Black History Month with tributes to Carter Woodson, Galen Martin and David Welch
    Friday, February 19, 2010



January

  • Ceremony for Kentucky Civil Rights Act 44th anniversary and human rights commission approaches 50 year mark
    Wednesday, January 27, 2010

  • January 2010 rulings on discrimination complaints
    Wednesday, January 27, 2010

  • State Human Rights Commission honors an American Hero with students in ML King Motorcade and remembers 50 years of service
    Friday, January 08, 2010

  • KENTUCKY COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS CELEBRATES 50 YEARS OF SERVICE WITH LISTENING TOUR SERIES
    Friday, January 08, 2010