Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Commission on Human Rights (banner goes here) Kentucky Commission on Human Rights (banner goes here)

Hall of Fame 2001

Dr. Abby L. Marlatt (1916-Lexington)

« PreviousNext »

Dr. Marlatt was instrumental in forming the Lexington chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE). She organized protests and marches in downtown Lexington. Even under pressure from officials where she was director of the School of Home Economics at the University of Kentucky, she persevered. She helped start the Lexington Committee on Religion and Human Rights, which was a force in calling attention to injustice in Lexington. She was a charter member of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government Ethics Commission as a representative of the League of Women Voters. She currently serves on the Board of Community Action and the Board of Emerson Center. Her primary focus is ensuring that barriers are eliminated for those unable to speak for themselves such as children, the elderly and minorities. The National Conference of Community and Justice honored her with its Brotherhood Award in 1985 for her tireless devotion to promoting justice in Kentucky.

16 Photos in Album

Dr. Frank Moxley (1908-  Bowling Green)
Senator Gerald Neal (1945-  Louisville)

Professor Paul Oberst (1914-  Owensboro)
Dr. Samuel Robinson (1935-  Louisville)

Lucretia Baldwin Ward (1922-1996)
Jesse Warders (1917-1981  Louisville)


Last Updated 1/9/2013
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement